CALL FOR FREE CONSULTATION
480-I-HAVE-HELP (480) 442-8343)
2 N. Central Ave. Floor 18, Suite 1928 Phoenix, AZ 85004
Marijuana Lawyer in Phoenix
Marijuana is a “Schedule I” controlled substance in Arizona, which means both federal and state laws regulate its possession, sale, and distribution. While Arizona allows medical marijuana use, possessing marijuana for recreational purposes is a criminal offense. So if you get caught in possession of marijuana anywhere in the state, and you’re not in its confidential statewide registry of medical marijuana patients, you are going to need the services of the best marijuana lawyer in Arizona.
Penalties for marijuana possession in Arizona
The penalties for marijuana possession in Arizona depend on whether the marijuana found on you was for personal consumption or for sale. In both cases, you are still going to need a marijuana lawyer in Phoenix by your side. An Arizona cannabis lawyer can competently represent you in court. With the best marijuana lawyer Arizona arguing your case, you stand a better chance of avoiding conviction.
The penalties can be harsh for those caught with marijuana for personal use, but the law is even harsher for those found to have marijuana for sale.
A class 6 felony charge is waiting for those caught with less than two pounds of marijuana for personal use. If convicted, you could get a jail sentence of four months to two years. If you were caught with between two and four pounds of marijuana for personal use, you would face a Class 5 felony charge, carries a sentence of six months to two and a half years. A Class 4 felony charge, meanwhile, is waiting for those caught in possession of four pounds or more of the substance for personal use.
The penalties for possessing marijuana with intent to sell are even more severe.
You will be charged with a Class 4 felony if you are caught with less than two pounds of marijuana for sale, and you will face one to four years in jail if convicted. Two and four pounds of marijuana for sale, meanwhile, can get you a Class 3 felony which is punishable by a jail sentence of two to nine years. Being caught with four pounds or more of marijuana for sale is even worse, as it is classified as a Class 2 felony, which is punishable by three to ten years in jail.
Aside from jail time, a conviction for marijuana possession could also carry a fine of up to $150,000, depending on what the court decides.
Possession of paraphernalia is also punishable
Let’s say that you were not caught in possession of marijuana, but authorities caught you with drug paraphernalia. You are still subject to penalties if you were caught with pipes, growing kits, separation sifters, scales, testing equipment, and other tools used to grow, sell, or use cannabis.
You would be facing up to 2 years in jail, fines and probation for 1st and 2nd time offenders. Up to 6 years in jail, fines and probation for 3rd time offenders.
Medical marijuana in Arizona
With a recommendation from a state-licensed doctor, a person with at least one qualifying can be allowed to purchase, possess, and use marijuana in Arizona. As with other states, the amount a patient can buy is limited. In Arizona, medical marijuana patients can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana at any one time.
A marijuana-related offense is not to be taken lightly. The jail time, fines, and other consequences that come with a conviction for marijuana possession can impact your life. That is why you definitely need a skilled and experienced cannabis lawyer in Arizona to represent you in court. With such legal counsel advising you, you will be able to understand the charges against you fully, and allow you to work with him or her to present the best possible defense for your case.
Call 480-I-HAVE-HELP (480-442-8343) today to schedule a free consultation with one of our talented attorneys.