CALL FOR FREE CONSULTATION
480-I-HAVE-HELP (480) 442-8343)
2 N. Central Ave. Floor 18, Suite 1928 Phoenix, AZ 85004
Charged With DUI? Experience Matters
Choose The Arizona Criminal Law Team
When it comes to DUI, Arizona has the toughest penalties in the country. That’s why you need a tough Phoenix DUI lawyer with proven experience to fight on your behalf. The Arizona Criminal Law Team is comprised of highly skilled and accomplished criminal defense lawyers.
When you are facing the loss of your freedom, driving privileges and good standing in the community, it’s time to talk with The Arizona Criminal Law Team.
Even a First Offense Can Change Your Life
If you are convicted of a first offense, you could face 10 days in jail, fines of at least $250 and a 90-day to one-year license suspension. You will also be required to place an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, with the cost of installation and maintenance coming out of your wallet.
A second DUI conviction will result in a 30-90 day mandatory jail term, a much larger fine and a one-year license suspension, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
Those convicted of a third DUI will face a minimum 4 month jail term, plus fines and a one-year license suspension. An ignition interlock device will be required on a third offense as well.
How the Law Determines Impaired Drivers
Anyone with a blood alcohol content of .08% and above is presumed under the influence. The legal limit is even lower for commercial vehicle operators (.04%). Anyone under the age of 21 can be arrested for DUI with even the slightest trace of alcohol present, or anything above .00% BAC.
The charges and consequences can become more severe depending on someone’s level of intoxication.
Anyone suspected driving with a BAC above .15% can be charged with extreme DUI. A first-time offender faces 30 of mandatory jail time, $2,500 in fines license suspension, ignition interlock device and completion of a substance abuse program.
Super Extreme DUI
Those suspected of driving with a blood alcohol content above .20% can face Super Extreme DUI charges. You could face a minimum jail term of 45 days, along with license suspension and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
Certain circumstances will elevate a DUI offense to the felony level. This is known as aggravated DUI and the consequences are extremely severe. Let’s take a look at how Arizona defines aggravated DUI.
- Charged with DUI while driving on a suspended license
- The person charged with aggravated DUI has two previous DUI convictions in the past seven years
- Being charged with DUI with a child in the vehicle
- Being charged with DUI while having an ignition interlock device installed, or required to be installed
What are the Penalties for Aggravated DUI?
- A presumptive prison term of 2.5 years, and minimum sentence of four months
- Up to five years of probation
- Three-year revocation of driver’s license
- Felony conviction on your permanent record
- Ignition Interlock Device
How to Defend Yourself Against DUI Charges in Arizona
When you are charged with a DUI offense, the state will have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were actually operating a motor vehicle while impaired. It’s important to hire a skilled defense attorney right away to protect your rights and look out for your best interests.
When you choose the Arizona Criminal Law Team, you can count on our attorneys to interview witnesses and police officers and look any potential flaws in the case. If procedures were not properly followed during your arrest or if evidence and testing was mishandled, your case could end up being dismissed.
It takes a capable and knowledgeable attorney to properly defend your case. Don’t take any chances when you have so much to lose. Contact The Arizona Criminal Law Team today.