CALL FOR FREE CONSULTATION
480-I-HAVE-HELP (480) 442-8343)
2 N. Central Ave. Floor 18, Suite 1928 Phoenix, AZ 85004
What You Need to Know About Arizona’s Zero Tolerance DUI Laws
The state of Arizona has strict DUI laws which can lead to harsh penalties and numerous restrictions. Many out-of-town visitors driving around the Grand Canyon state are not aware of these laws, particularly the Zero tolerance DUI law. Read on to understand the zero-tolerance DUI laws in Arizona.
What does zero-tolerance mean?
The zero-tolerance law in Arizona means that an officer can still arrest you if you show signs of impairment or intoxication, even if you register a blood alcohol concentration less than the legal limit of 0.08 allowed for driving. The zero-tolerance law is applied even though Arizona Revised Statute 28-1381 stipulates that “it may be presumed that the defendant was not under the influence of intoxicating liquor” if the BAC is 0.05 percent or lower.
Different type of DUIs you can be charged with in Arizona
In Arizona, you can face any of the three different types of DUIs, depending on your BAC level and other factors. These types are explained as follows:
Standard DUI – A first offense DUI in Arizona is punishable by 10 days in jail and a fine of $1,500. The offender also has to pay jail costs and $80 monitoring fee and may be required to go through screening and counseling. The offenders’ driver’s license is suspended for 90 days and the offender will have to install an Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months.
A second offense standard DUI charge in Arizona, where the offender registers a BAC of 0.08 percent or more but less than 0.15 percent, is punishable by 90 days in jail. The offender is eligible for home detention after 6 days. Apart from that, the offender has to pay a fine of $3,500 along with jail and home detention costs and $80 monitoring fee. The offenders’ driver’s license is suspended for 90 days and the offender is required to install an Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months.
Extreme DUI – When someone registers a BAC of 0.15 percent, they are charged with DUI. Penalties for a first offense include jail sentence of 30 days, with home detention eligible after 2 days. The offender has to pay $2,780 in fines along with jail and home detention fee and $80 monitoring fee. The offender will be required to undergo screening and counseling. Their driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days and the offender will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months.
A second offense Extreme DUI charge carries higher penalties, with a jail sentence of 120 days. The offender also has to pay $3,740 in fines along with jail cost and monitoring fee. Their driver’s license is suspended for 1 year, followed by a mandatory installation of an Ignition Interlock Device.
Super Extreme DUI – Registering a BAC of 0.20 percent or more is considered a Super Extreme DUI in Arizona which is punishable by a jail sentence of 45 days. The offender has to pay about $3,240 in fines along with other fees. Their driver’s license is suspended for 90 days, followed by an Ignition Interlock period of 18 months. A second offense Super Extreme DUI carries even higher penalties. If you are facing a DUI charge , get in touch with a DUI defense lawyer right away.